Welcome to Albuquerque!

October 19th, 2013 - Posted in ASTC News, Annual Conference, Featured by Larry Hoffer

 More than 1,600 attendees (with more to come) representing 43 countries across the globe have gathered in Albuquerque, New Mexico for the start of the 2013 ASTC Annual Conference, hosted by Explora, the National Museum of Nuclear Science and History, and the New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science.

With over 100 sessions and workshops; and keynote presentations featuring Eugenie Scott, executive director of the National Center for Science Education (on Saturday), Ramu Damodaran, deputy director for partnerships and public engagement for the United Nations’ Outreach Division (on Sunday), and a conversation with best-selling author Neal Stephenson, Ed Finn, director of Arizona State University’s Center for Science and the Imagination, and Alexander Zwissler, executive director and CEO of Chabot Space and Science Center; as well as numerous networking opportunities, ASTC 2013 promises to be an exceptional professional development opportunity for the global science center community.

Whether on-site or from afar, ASTC invites you to follow the 2013 Annual Conference online. Follow us on Twitter (@sciencecenters), and join in the conversation using hashtag #astc2013. Photos and videos will also be posted on Instagram (follow @sciencecenters and post your own using #astc2013), and on our ASTCvideos YouTube channel. The ASTC Conference Blog will also be updated Saturday through Tuesday.

ASTC Announces 2013 Roy L. Shafer Leading Edge Award Recipients

July 15th, 2013 - Posted in ASTC News by Mary Mathias

ASTC applauds the 2013 Roy L. Shafer Leading Edge Award recipients announced this week. Presented annually, the awards recognize extraordinary accomplishments in Business Practice, Visitor Experience, and Leadership in the Field during the last three years.

The ten-member Leading Edge jury chose to honor Sciencenter, Ithaca, New York, in the Business Practice category, for MuseumTools.org: A High-Impact HR Toolkit for Science Museums. The recipient of the Leading Edge Award for Visitor Experience is Science Alive! The New Zealand Science Centre, Christchurch, for A Science Centre Without Walls. Asger Høeg, executive director of Experimentarium in Hellerup, Denmark, is the recipient of the 2013 Leading Edge Award for Experienced Leadership in the Field.

The awards will be presented during the Leadership and Awards Luncheon, Saturday, October 19, at the ASTC Annual Conference in Albuquerque, New Mexico. For more information about the Leading Edge Awards, visit www.astc.org/about/awards/leading_edge.htm.

ASTC Announces 2013 Diversity and Leadership Development Fellows

July 11th, 2013 - Posted in ASTC News, Professional Development by Mary Mathias

ASTC is pleased to announce the 2013 ASTC Diversity and Leadership Development Fellows. The Fellows are museum professionals from underrepresented groups, and will attend the 2013 ASTC Annual Conference to gain professional development experiences, a broader peer network, and the opportunity to acquire and hone their leadership skills. Thirteen new and five alumni fellows were chosen, representing one of the largest classes the program has seen since its 2001 launch.

This year’s class includes new Fellows:

  • Marcia Bueno- New York Hall of Science, Corona, NY
  • Michael Charles- Miami Science Museum, FL
  • Kris Kelly- TELUS Spark, the New Science Centre, Calgary, AB, Canada
  • L. Autumn King- Chabot Space & Science Center, Oakland, CA
  • Brittani Lane- EdVenture Children’s Museum, Columbia, SC
  • Jeffrey Mehigan- Museum of Science, Boston, MA
  • Amanda Paige- University of Michigan Museum of Natural History, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Tamara Poles- North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences, Raleigh, NC
  • Kyle Pong- Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum, Reno, NV
  • Chelsea Rodriguez- Pacific Science Center, Seattle, WA
  • Scott Shoemaker- Science Museum of Minnesota, St. Paul, MN
  • Daniela Siqueiros- Children’s Museum of Tucson, AZ
  • Dale Wilson- Marbles Kids Museum, Raleigh, NC

Alumni Fellows include:

  • Adrienne Barnett- Exploratorium, San Francisco, CA
  • Tracey Cones-Renshaw- National Museum of Natural History, Washington, DC
  • Jennifer Jenkins- WonderLab Museum of Science, Health and Technology, Bloomington, IN
  • Josh Kemper- Pacific Science Center, Seattle, WA
  • Mark Thorne- National Children’s Museum, National Harbor, MD
  • Merisa Camacho- California Science Center, Los Angeles, CA

For more information, visit www.astc.org/about/awards/awards.htm

Dr. Eugenie Scott to Speak at ASTC 2013 Annual Conference

June 3rd, 2013 - Posted in ASTC News, Annual Conference by Mary Mathias

ASTC is excited to announce that Dr. Eugenie Scott will give the keynote presentation on Saturday, October 19 at ASTC’s 2013 Annual Conference in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Dr. Scott spoke at the 2005 annual conference in Richmond, Virginia and we are very pleased to welcome her back!

Dr. Eugenie C. Scott is Executive Director of the National Center for Science Education, Inc., a not-for-profit membership organization of scientists, teachers, and others that works to improve the teaching of science as a way of knowing, the teaching of evolution, and the teaching of climate change.

A former college professor, Dr. Scott lectures widely, and is called upon by the press and other media to explain science and evolution to the general public.

Scott is the author of Evolution vs Creationism: An Introduction, co-editor (with Glenn Branch) of Not In Our Classrooms: Why Intelligent Design Is Wrong For Our Schools, and the author of many articles in science journals. She has served as President of the American Association of Physical Anthropologists, and has been honored by both scientists and educators in having been awarded the National Academy of Sciences Public Welfare Medal, the National Science Board Public Service Award, the AIBS Outstanding Service Award, the Geological Society of America Public Service Award, the AAAS Award for Scientific Freedom and Responsibility, the California Science Teachers Association Distinguished Service Award, and the National Association of Biology Teachers Honorary Membership award, “the association’s highest honor.” In 2009, Scientific American named her “one of 10 outstanding leaders involved in research, business or policy pursuits that have advanced science and technology.” She holds honorary D.Sc. degrees from McGill University, Ohio State University, Mt. Holyoke University, the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Rutgers University, the University of New Mexico, Colorado College, the University of Missouri, and Chapman University, and was awarded the University Medal from the University of California-San Francisco.

ASTC 2013 Keynote Presentation: Is the Museum of Tomorrow the Future of Science Centers?

May 16th, 2013 - Posted in ASTC News, Annual Conference by Mary Mathias

The Sunday, October 20th keynote presentation at the ASTC 2013 Annual Conference will focus on the plans for the Museum of the Tomorrow, currently under construction in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on Pier Maua as part of the Porto Maravilha waterfront revitalization project. Sustainability will be at the center of both the Museum of Tomorrow’s exhibits and the building itself, as designed by world-renowned architect Santiago Calatrava. This presentation will be followed by a discussion of the implications the museum’s design will have on the future of science centers worldwide.

This is sure to be a “can’t miss” keynote program, presented by Professor Luis Oliveira, Scientific Director of the Museum of Tomorrow, Maria Isabel Garcia, Curator of The Mind Museum, and Sebastian Chan, Director of Digital and Emerging Media at Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum.

© Association of Science - Technology Centers Incorporated