ASTC recognizes extraordinary achievement through awards presented to distinguished members and friends of the science center field. The association also fosters greater understanding among international colleagues and encourages new talent by supporting participation of individuals from outside the United States and professionals of color in the ASTC Annual Conference.


The Fellow Award for Outstanding Contribution, ASTC’s highest honor, is awarded to individuals who have performed exemplary service to the field and furthered the public understanding of science.  more

The Roy L. Shafer Leading Edge Awards, new in 2005, are presented annually to ASTC members and/or their employees in recognition of extraordinary accomplishments in Visitor Experience, Business Practice, and Leadership in the Field.  more

Now discontinued, the Award for Innovation (1999-2002) was given in recognition of an innovation developed by an individual or museum team that advanced the mission of the institution and the science center field.  more


Promoting Dialogues on Diversity: The ASTC Conference Fellowship Program addresses two important needs of the field: the support, growth, and retention of museum professionals of color, and the diversity of voices and perspectives represented at the ASTC Annual Conference.  more

The Lee Kimche McGrath Worldwide Fellowship, established to foster greater understanding among international colleagues, provides funding for an individual from a science center or museum outside the United States to attend the ASTC Annual Conferences.  more