2009 Roy L. Shafer Leading Edge Awards presented

The Roy L. Shafer Leading Edge Awards are presented annually to ASTC members and/or their employees in recognition of extraordinary accomplishments that not only enhance the performance of their own institutions but also significantly advance the mission of science-technology centers and museums. This following awards were presented on October 31, 2009.

Leading Edge Award for Business Practice
Sustainability Intiative, Sciencenter, Ithaca, New York

Leading Edge Award for Visitor Experience (small center)
Science Assets-Based School Partnership Program, The Bakken Museum, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Leading Edge Award for Visitor Experience (large center), Carnegie Science Center, Pittsburgh, Pennyslvania
Klima X, Norsk Teknisk Museum, Oslo, Norway

Leading Edge Award for Experienced Leadership in the Field
Dr. Christopher Andrews, director of the Steinhart Aquarium and chief of public programs, California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco
Rachel Meyer, executive director, Coyote Point Museum for Environmental Education, San Mateo, California