Dennis Wint receives ASTC Fellow Award

Dennis Wint accepts ASTC Fellow AwardASTC presented its highest award today to Dennis Wint, president and chief executive officer of the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Wint has served the Franklin Institute since 1995, but the museum community overall for over 35 years.

Prior to his work at the Franklin Institute, Wint served as president of the Saint Louis Science Center, Missouri; director of the Cranbrook Institute of Science, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan; and vice president of Philadelphia’s Academy of Natural Sciences. He is an active member of ASTC and has served the organization in a variety of capacities, including as co-chair of the Governance Committee, co-chair of the International Advisory Board, member of the Board of Directors, and president.

“ASTC is a far better, far stronger organization because of Dennis’ leadership and involvement over the years,” said ASTC executive director Bonnie VanDorn. “Dennis has always found a way to make sure that his institutions, ASTC, and the science center field as a whole stayed true to our roots and our mission. In many ways, I think of him as this organization’s ‘compass.’ If we start to lose our way, we can always turn to Dennis to get us pointed in the right direction again. We owe him a lot.”

The ASTC Fellow Award for Outstanding Contribution, first presented in 1974, is bestowed upon individuals who merit special recognition for their significant contributions to the advancement of public understanding and appreciation of science and technology or of ASTC itself.

About the image: Dennis Wint accepts the ASTC Fellow Award. Photo by Christine Ruffo