Lesley Lewis Receives the ASTC Fellow Award for Outstanding Contribution

Written by Sean Smith

During the opening session of the 2015 ASTC Annual Conference, the Association presented the ASTC Fellow Award for Outstanding Contribution, the Association’s highest honor, to Lesley Lewis, former CEO of the Ontario Science Centre in Toronto, former ASTC board chair, and current museum consultant. ASTC Fellows are individuals who merit special recognition for having made significant contributions to the advancement of public understanding and appreciation of science and technology or of ASTC itself. The award, first bestowed in 1974 to ASTC co-founders Dixy Lee Ray (former director, Pacific Science Center, Seattle) and Daniel McMaster (former director, Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago), was presented by ASTC board chair and Nominating Committee co-chair Chevy Humphrey (president and CEO, Arizona Science Center, Phoenix) and ASTC Nominating Committee co-chair Barry Van Deman (president and CEO, Museum of Life and Science, Durham, North Carolina).

Lewis—just the 30th individual so honored since the award’s inception—was recognized for “providing exemplary leadership as the Chief Executive Officer of the Ontario Science Centre—a founding member of ASTC—and as the President of the ASTC Board—the first Canadian to serve in that capacity—while acting as a trusted colleague, respected advisor, and cherished friend to the global science center field. Lesley’s years of service were truly transformational; she personifies what it means to be an ‘agent of change.’”

In accepting the award before conference attendees and family members, Lewis offered that “science centers change people’s lives, and those lives reflect the diversity of our communities. And if that diversity isn’t evident in your audience, it should be . . . By connecting more people to science today, we can ensure a better tomorrow for us all.”

For more information about the ASTC Fellow Award for Outstanding Contribution, including nomination instructions and a list of honorees, please visit