ASTC Announces 2013 Roy L. Shafer Leading Edge Award Recipients

ASTC applauds the 2013 Roy L. Shafer Leading Edge Award recipients announced this week. Presented annually, the awards recognize extraordinary accomplishments in Business Practice, Visitor Experience, and Leadership in the Field during the last three years.The ten-member Leading Edge jury chose to honor Sciencenter, Ithaca, New York, in the Business Practice category, for A High-Impact HR Toolkit for Science Museums. The recipient of the Leading Edge Award for Visitor Experience is Science Alive! The New Zealand Science Centre, Christchurch, for A Science Centre Without Walls. Asger H√łeg, executive director of Experimentarium in Hellerup, Denmark, is the recipient of the 2013 Leading Edge Award for Experienced Leadership in the Field.

The awards will be presented during the Leadership and Awards Luncheon, Saturday, October 19, at the ASTC Annual Conference in Albuquerque, New Mexico. For more information about the Leading Edge Awards, visit