Executives from 15 ASTC-Member Institutions Named 2012-2013 Noyce Leadership Fellows

Earlier today, The Noyce Foundation, in collaboration with ASTC and the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), announced the participants in a fifth round of yearlong sponsored fellowships, as well as plans to recruit more leaders in the following year, with the aim of increasing the public impact of science centers, museums, and related institutions. Of the 18 senior-level executives from science centers, children’s museums, natural history museums, and field-based institutions named as 2012-2013 Noyce Leadership Fellows, 15 represent ASTC-member institutions.

Through their experience as Fellows, these individuals will gain access to knowledge, tools, promising practices, and professional networks that increase their capacity to lead effectively and advance innovation in their own institutions, their home communities, and in the broader field. They were selected through a competitive process by a committee composed of professionals representing the fields of informal science education and executive leadership. The Fellowship program provides an action-learning framework via a mix of face-to-face sessions, executive coaching, peer learning, audio conferencing, and other learning strategies over a year, followed by ongoing Fellow alumni activities.

The 18 Noyce Fellows and their Strategic Initiative Sponsors are as follows. (ASTC-member institutions are noted with an asterisk.)

Accokeek Foundation, Maryland
Fellow: Lisa Hayes, President & CEO
Sponsor: Wilton C. Corkern, senior advisor

American Museum of Natural History, New York, New York*
Fellow: Lauri Halderman, senior director, exhibition interpretation
Co-Sponsors: David Harvey, senior vice president for exhibition, and Lisa J. Gugenheim, senior vice president, institutional advancement, strategic planning and education

Boston Children’s Museum, Massachusetts*
Fellow: Tim Porter, project director, education
Sponsor: Leslie Swartz, senior vice president of research and program planning

Copernicus Science Center, Warsaw, Poland
Fellow: Irena Cieślińska, deputy director
Sponsor: Robert Firmhofer, CEO

Lawrence Hall of Science, University of California, Berkeley*
Fellow: Gretchen Walker, public science center interim director
Sponsor: Elizabeth Stage, director, Lawrence Hall of Science

Madison Children’s Museum, Wisconsin*
Fellow: Brenda Baker, director of exhibits
Sponsor: Ruth Shelly, executive director

Marian Koshland Science Museum of the National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D.C.*
Fellow: Erika Shugart, deputy director
Sponsor: Patrice Legro, director

Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago*
Fellow: Patricia Ward, director, science and technology
Sponsor: Kurt Haunfelner, vice president, exhibits and collections

Museum of Science, Boston*
Fellow: Christine Reich, director of research and evaluation
Co-Sponsors: Wayne Bouchard, chief operating officer, and Britton O’Brien, vice president, human resources

National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation, Miraikan, Japan*
Fellow: Yasushi Ikebe, principal investigator of science communication
Sponsor: Mamoru Mohri, CEO

Natural History Museum, London*
Fellow: Ian Jenkinson, museum manager
Co-Sponsors: Ailsa Barry, head of interactive media, and Andy Polaszek, keeper of entomology

Naturalis Biodiversity Center, Leiden, The Netherlands
Fellow: Paul Voogt, director, public programs
Sponsor: Edwin van Huis, CEO

New York Hall of Science, Queens*
Fellow: David Kanter, director, SciPlay, Center for Play, Science and Technology Learning
Sponsor: Margaret Honey, president & CEO

Science Museum of Minnesota, St. Paul*
Fellow: Bob Breck, director of marketing and membership
Sponsor: Paul Martin, senior vice president of science learning

Science Museum Oklahoma, Oklahoma City*
Fellow: Sherry Marshall, director of the Oklahoma Museum Network
Sponsor: Don Otto, CEO

Thanksgiving Point Institute, Lehi, Utah
Fellow: Blake Wigdahl, vice president, design and programming
Sponsor: Mike Washburn, president and CEO

The Franklin Institute Science Museum, Philadelphia*
Fellow: Dale McCreedy, director, gender and family learning programs
Sponsor: Frederic Bertley, vice president, science and innovation

Universeum, Gothenburg, Sweden*
Fellow: Carina Halvord, deputy managing director and head of development
Sponsor: Lars Rehnman, CEO

The Noyce Foundation and its partners are proud to announce a sixth NLI Fellowship in 2013-2014. Senior-level leaders interested in learning more about the application process should visit

The Institute bears the name of Robert Noyce, co-founder of Intel and and inventor of the integrated circuit. His work in leading science, engineering, and technology to a whole new level of innovation — as well as the creation of new industries — is legendary. Known for his integrity, authenticity, character, inclusiveness, and continuous innovation, Noyce’s legacy continues to serve as a standard for leaders today. Primary funding for the Noyce Leadership Institute comes from the Noyce Foundation, with additional support to date from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, and the David & Lucile Packard Foundation.