Rotten Truth logo

Rotten Truth (About Garbage) was organized by the Association of Science-Technology Centers Incorporated and the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service, with generous funding from the Environmental Protection Agency, Region III and Headquarters; Waste Management, Inc.; National Solid Waste Management Association; Rodale Press; and The Smithsonian Institution Special Exhibition Fund.

ASTC: Wendy Pollock, Lisa Agustin, Lanea Eschmeyer, Johanna Jones
SITES: Elizabeth Hennings, Jean Fang, Jennifer Thissen

Jeffrey Alper, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region III
Jan Canterbury, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Richard Denison, Ph.D., Senior Scientist, Environmental Defense Fund
Judith Gradwohl, Ph.D., Director, Office of Environmental Awareness, Smithsonian Institution
Howard Levenson, Ph.D., Advisor, California Integrated Waste Management Board
Martin Melosi, Ph.D., Director, Institute for Public History, University of Houston
William Rathje, Ph.D., The Garbage Project, University of Arizona, author of Rubbish!
Andrew Uricheck, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Carol Weisner, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Kathleen McLean, Project Director, Independent Exhibitions.

We would like to thank the following people and organizations who helped with the development of this exhibition:
Kenneth Ames, New York State Museum
Gail Anderson, Des Moines Metropolitan Solid Waste Agency
Mary Appelhof, Flowerfield Enterprises
Arthur D. Little, Inc.
Therese Beaudoin, Musée de la Civilization, Quebec
Judy Bell, The Richmond Organization
Joyce Blanker, Esleek
Lisa Bower, Waste Resource Technologies
Michael Brown
Chris, Cindy, Jenny, and Debbie Burger
California Academy of Sciences
Eileen Campbell
Margaret Ann Charles, Integrated Waste Services Association
Tim Conner, Environmental Defense Fund
William Crowley, State Museum of Wisconsin
Caroline Cummings, Des Moines Metropolitan Solid Waste Agency
Thomas E. Davidson, Ph.D., Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center
Deja Shoe
The Delaware Solid Waste Authority
Daniel Dindal, State University of New York, Syracuse
DuPont Pouch Systems
Michael Ettema, Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village
The Exploratorium
James J. Finn, Aseptic Packaging Council
Barbara Flagg, Ph.D., Multimedia Research
Barbara Franco, Minnesota Historical Society
George Frank, Anheuser-Busch Recycling Corporation
Fred Friedman, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Research Library for Solid Waste
Glass Packaging Institute
Art Hamilton, Martin Color-Fi, Inc.
Jonathan Hirabayashi Design
Harry Hoitink, Ohio State University
Suellen Hoy, Ph.D.
Dennis Jones, Norandal
Patricia Kaspar, NASA
Jack L. Kirk, California Department of Transportation
Baiba Sube Lennard
Jennifer Levine, Glass Packaging Institute
Susan Levine, Combiblok
Theresa Bickel Martella, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region III
Maryland Science Center
Nora McCarthy, Greenpeace
Montshire Museum of Science
Barry Murov, Anheuser Busch
Tom Murphy, Tetrapak
Museum of Science, Boston
National Plastics Center and Museum
Dave Newton, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region III, Senior Environmental Employee Program
The Oakland Museum
Bill Pendergraft, Environmental Media Corporation
Jon Plutte
Judy Rand
Tim Ream, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Air Quality and Planning Standards
Rehrig-Pacific Company
Debra R. Reinhart, Ph.D., University of Central Florida
Reynolds Metals Company
Dr. Nan Rothschild, William Duncan Strong Museum, Columbia University
Roger H. Sandstrom, Owens-Brockway Glass Containers
Terry Schettini, Ph.D., Rodale Institute Research Center
Elizabeth Secor, Monell Chemical Senses Center
Ethan Seidman, Garbage magazine
Beverly Serrell, Serrell & Associates
Shel Silverstein
Douglas Smith, Museum of Science, Boston
Smith & Hawken, Ltd.
Society for Environmental Toxicology & Chemistry
Solid Waste Information Clearinghouse
Steve Spangenberg, Badger Paper Mills
Thomas L. Steller
Genine Tillotson, Magic Lantern Enterprises
Michelle Trainor, BHA Group, Inc.
Mierle Laderman Ukeles
Martin Weiss, Ph.D., New York Hall of Science
Joe Wojciechowski, Insamet, Inc.
John Woods, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Television Production Office
Randy Woods, National Solid Waste Management Association

Rotten Truth Home

© The Rotten Truth web site was created in 1998 by the Association of Science-Technology Centers Incorporated and the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service. All rights reserved.
Disclaimer: Rotten Truth (About Garbage) links to a number of activities and resources provided by institutions other than ASTC and SITES. Every effort has been made to ensure that these links are accurate, but because neither ASTC nor SITES controls the content of these web sites, outside links are not guaranteed to be correct or active. Neither ASTC nor SITES shall be liable in the event of incidental or consequential damages connected with, or arising out of, providing the information offered here. External sites are not endorsed by ASTC or the Smithsonian Institution.