IMLS Announces 2015 National Medal Finalists

medalThe U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) has announced 30 libraries and museums as finalists to receive the National Medal for Museum and Library Service, including seven ASTC-member institutions. The National Medal is the highest honor given to museums and libraries in the U.S. for exemplary service to their communities. The seven ASTC-member finalists are:

  • Amazement Square, Lynchburg, Virginia
  • Chabot Space & Science Center, Oakland, California
  • Louisiana Children’s Museum, New Orleans
  • Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science, Miami, Florida
  • New York Hall of Science, Queens
  • The Tech Museum of Innovation, San Jose, California
  • The Wild Center, Tupper Lake, New York

The rest of the museum nominees include:

  • Tuckerton Seaport & Baymen’s Museum, New Jersey
  • Children’s Museum of Brownsville, Texas
  • The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art, Amherst, Massachusetts
  • Museum of Northern Arizona, Flagstaff
  • Nantucket Historical Association, Massachusetts
  • Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • The Strong, Rochester, New York
  • Gladys Porter Zoo, Brownsville, Texas

The National Medal winners will be announced this spring and honored at a ceremony in Washington, DC. If you have visited one of the museum or library finalists, IMLS would like you to share your story on their Facebook page at

To see the full press release, visit To learn more about the IMLS National Medal, visit